Recarving Rushmore: Ranking the Presidents on Peace, Prosperity, and Liberty

Reviews with Integrated Context

Books You May Like

Recarving Rushmore: Ranking the Presidents on Peace, Prosperity, and Liberty

Author: Ivan Eland
Publisher: Independent Institute
Copyright: 2009
Pages: 448
Cover Price: $ 25.00

Enter a word or phrase in the box below

The four presidents chosen for Mount Rushmore are Washington, Jefferson, Lincoln, and Teddy Roosevelt. The choice was made by the Danish-American sculptor in charge, Gutzon Borglum. In his opinion, they represented the most important men in American history to occupy the White House.

Author Ivan Eland has taken a fresh look. Profiling each president on the merits of his policies and on the core principles of peace, prosperity, and liberty, this ranking system takes a distinctly new approach. Historians and scholars have long tended to respect the war heroes and men who have succeeded in expanding the power of the executive office. However, this new examination cuts through longstanding bias and political rhetoric to offer a new nonpartisan system of ranking that is based purely on strength of policies and adherence to the Founding Father’s guidelines for limited government. These rankings will surprise most and enlighten even acknowledged experts on the presidency.

Background Information

Mount Rushmore features enormous likenesses of four famous president, sculpted out of solid rock on the face of the mountain in South Dakota. George Washington fought in both the French and Indian and the Revolutionary wars, and was his country's first President. Abraham Lincoln was the first Republican President and led the Union during the Civil War. Thomas Jefferson wrote the Declaration of Independence, founded the Democratic-Republican Party and was the third President. The White House is the official residence in Washington DC of the President of the United States.